Eight Turncoats Of 2019 ‘Coup’ Who Helped BJP Form Government In Karnataka, Lose Election

Eight Congress turncoats who joined the BJP and helped it form the government in 2019, lost in the May 10 Karnataka Assembly elections, for which the results were announced on Saturday.

As many as 13 Congress and three JD(S) MLAs had resigned from the Karnataka Assembly in 2019 thus bringing down the 14-month-old coalition government of the Congress and the JD(S) led by H D Kumaraswamy.

Later, 16 of these MLAs, who were disqualified by the Speaker, joined the BJP and a majority them contested the 2019 Assembly bypolls, won the election and became Ministers in the B S Yediyurappa-led BJP government.

On Saturday when the election results were announced, Pratapgouda Patil lost to Basangouda Turvihal of Congress by 13,053 votes from Maski constituency and Hirekerur’s B C Patil by 15,020 votes to Ujaneshwar Basavannappa Banakar of the Congress.

Health Minister Dr K Sudhakar from Chikkaballapura lost to Congress candidate Pradeep Eshwar by 10,642 votes, M T B Nagaraj from Hoskote lost to Congress candidate Sharath Kumar Bachegowda by 5,150 votes while Shrimant Patil from Kagwad was defeated by Congress’ Balaramgouda Alagouda Kage by 8,827 votes.

Athani’s Mahesh Kumathalli was defeated by Laxman Savadi, who had quit BJP and joined the Congress, by 76,122 seats, K R Pet’s K C Narayana Gowda and Ranibennur’s R Shankar lost the election as a distant third.

BJP fielded Siddarth Singh Thakur in place of his Minister father Anand Singh, a turncoat, from Vijayanagara constituency, who lost to HR Gaviyappa by 33,723 votes. Roshan Baig and AH Vishwanath did not contest in this election.

However, Yellapur’s Shivaram Hebbar, Yeshwanthpur’s S T Somashekar, alomg with Byrati Basavaraj from K R Puram, N Munirathna from R R Nagar, Ramesh Jarkiholi from Gokak and K Gopalaiah from Mahalakshmi Layout won the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *